Thursday, October 9, 2014

Another great suspense-- Deceived

There are a few names whose very presence on a novel leave me feeling confident I will not be disappointed in the book.  One such name in the genre of Christian romantic suspense is Irene Hannon.  So when I picked up Deceived, book 3 in her Private Justice series, I got exactly what I expected -- a fantastic read!

Irene fashions characters who come very much alive from the first pages of the story and draw you deeper into their lives with the emerging plot line.  The ups and downs, joys and struggles that Kate and Connor go through, as well as the twists and turns of the plot, provide a very enjoyable story with the right balance of suspense, romance, and faith.  Information about the characters' lives is provided at just the right time in the story to help the pieces come together.  Irene's extensive background research is evident throughout and provides an element of realism that helps drive the story.

I would highly recommend Deceived to anyone who enjoys a well-written story -- particularly one filled with suspense and a healthy dash of romance.  You may want to start with books 1 and 2 from this series, but the story can be great as a stand-alone.

Thanks to Revell for providing a copy of Deceived in exchange for my honest review.

About the Book

A grieving mother. A mysterious child. And a dedicated PI who's determined to solve the puzzle.

For three years, Kate Marshall has been mourning the loss of her husband and four-year-old son in a boating accident. But when she spots a familiar-looking child on a mall escalator, she's convinced it's her son. With police skeptical of her story, she turns to private investigator Connor Sullivan for help. As the former Secret Service agent digs into the case, the boating "accident" begins to look increasingly suspicious. But if Kate's son is alive, someone is intent on keeping him hidden--and may go to lethal lengths to protect a sinister secret.

As Irene Hannon's many fans have come to expect, Deceived is filled with complex characters, unexpected twists, and a riveting plotline that accelerates to an explosive finish.

 About the Author

Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than forty romantic suspense and contemporary romance novels, including the Heroes of Quantico and Guardians of Justice series. Her books have been honored with two coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, a Carol Award, two HOLT Medallions, a Daphne du Maurier Award, two Reviewers' Choice Awards from RT Book Reviews magazine, a Retailers' Choice Award, and a National Readers' Choice Award. In addition, she is a Christy Award finalist, and Booklist included one of her novels in its "Top 10 Inspirational Fiction" list for 2011. Irene lives in Missouri. Learn more at

No comments:

Post a Comment