Saturday, February 7, 2015

A wild ride through Willow Ridge! -- Breath of Spring

Breath of Spring may just be Charlotte Hubbard's best yet in her Seasons of the Heart series.  But be prepared for a wild ride through Willow Ridge -- figuratively and literally!

The Seasons books, set in the fictitious town of Willow Ridge, Missouri, are filled with characters who become good friends to the readers.  Watching them develop and grow as different individuals are highlighted in the various books keeps this series alive and fresh.  And then there is Hiram Knepp -- not so much a character to love --who really outdoes himself in this story!

Annie Mae Knepp has her chance to shine in this installment, as she finds herself taking on much more responsibility than should be shouldered by a seventeen year old girl.  She learns a lot about herself and the community around her, especially a young man by the name of Adam Wagler.  Charlotte does a beautiful job of fashioning a story of fear and guilt turning into faith, love, forgiveness, and freedom.

Any fan of good Amish fiction should enjoy Breath of Spring.  If you haven't already done so, I would recommend you start with the first three books in the series so you can enjoy the full impact of this story.  I'm anxious to see what happens next in Willow Ridge in Harvest of Blessings.

About the Book:

As a bright season brings a fresh start to Willow Ridge, Annie Mae Knepp feels she can never make peace with the past. Her disgraced ex-bishop father is furious she has taken her five siblings to live with her. She’s never been truly at home in her faith. . .or believing in herself. And Annie Mae fears no man will want to take on the responsibilities she’s gladly shouldered. True, her quiet neighbor Adam Wagler has been steadfast and unshakeable helping her through her trials, but he surely couldn’t think of someone so lost as more than a friend. Believing she is unworthy because of her doubts, Annie Mae will find in a moment of surprising revelation that God can work impossible miracles—and that love makes all things new.

About the Author:
Drawing upon her experiences in Jamesport, the largest Old Order Amish community west of the Mississippi, longtime Missourian Charlotte Hubbard (a.k.a. Naomi King) writes of simpler times and a faith-based lifestyle in her new Seasons of the Heart series. Like her heroine, Miriam Lantz, Charlotte considers it her personal mission to feed people—to share hearth and home. Faith and family, farming and food preservation are hallmarks of her lifestyle, and the foundation of her earlier Angels of Mercy series. She’s a deacon, a dedicated church musician and choir member, and when she’s not writing, she loves to try new recipes, crochet, and sew. Charlotte now lives in Minnesota with her husband and their border collie.

No comments:

Post a Comment