Monday, December 30, 2013

Autumn Winds

Autumn Winds is a great follow-up to Charlotte Hubbard's Summer of Secrets.  (You can check out my review of the first book here.)  The Lantz women are still enjoying their Amish lifestyle and traditions -- but not without their own strong personalities shining through.  Ben Hooley arrives in Willow Ridge and stirs things up a bit.  And there is still the bishop to contend with -- a tough bishop with a few secrets of his own.

Charlotte gives us characters to love and some to not love so much.  Her story is filled with friends, family, faith and fun.  There are moments of deep drama, moments of joy, and moments of sheer fun -- no spoilers, but look out for Ben's feisty aunts!

I highly recommend Seasons of the Heart series to all Amish fiction fans.  I look forward to continuing the story in Winter of Wishes very soon.

About the Book

The leaves are falling and there’s a chill in the air in Willow Ridge, Missouri, the quaint, quiet Amish town where love, loyalty, and faith in the Old Ways are about to be put to the test … 

Winds of change are blowing through Willow Ridge, and they’re bringing a stranger to the Sweet Seasons Bakery. At first, widowed Miriam Lantz has misgivings about Ben Hooley, a handsome but rootless traveling blacksmith. But as she gets to know the kind-hearted newcomer, she wonders if his arrival was providential. Perhaps she could find love again—if only there weren’t so many obstacles in the way. With Bishop Knepp relentlessly pursuing her hand in marriage and the fate of her beloved café at stake, Miriam must listen to God and her heart to find the happiness she longs for and the love she deserves. 

About the Author

Drawing upon her experiences in Jamesport, the largest Old Order Amish community west of the Mississippi, longtime Missourian Charlotte Hubbard writes of simpler times and a faith-based lifestyle in her new Seasons of the Heart series. Like her heroine, Miriam Lantz, Charlotte considers it her personal mission to feed people—to share hearth and home. Faith and family, farming and food preservation are hallmarks of her lifestyle, and the foundation of her earlier Angels of Mercy series. She’s a deacon, a dedicated church musician and choir member, and when she’s not writing, she loves to try new recipes, crochet, and sew. Charlotte now lives in Minnesota with her husband and their border collie.

No comments:

Post a Comment